I have been told wheat starch was safe for me to eat by my dietitian. But, I eat only a couple of things that actually have wheat starch in it. Like malt-o-meal chocolate rice crispies and imitation crab meat for a salad or in sushi and so far I have had no problems. Hopefully it stays that way.
I would say no. From what I understand, it CAN be processed in a way that removes MOST of the wheat protein, but it isn't a foolproof process.I tend to steer clear of anything that has the term wheat or gluten in it BIG time! Unless of course it's buckwheat, which really has nothing to do with wheat at all! ;) And glutinous rice (an ingredient I found in some Wasabi peas I got for my hubby).....which has no gluten in it either! Glutinous just means "sticy."
Interesting that you bring this up. I have read that wheat starch is fine, but I have also read that it isn't. I don't eat it and won't eat products that have it in them. I think the Toro products had wheat starch in them. I remember seeing them on the shelves of my health food store and put them right back. Kim
I was under the impression that wheat starch is not OK on a gluten free diet - is there something I am missing?
Just my opinion, but wheat by any other name, would still cause me pain! Now that I know how 'normal' feels, I don't want to do anything that could take me backwards in my health. If I see wheat in any form on an ingredient listing, I choose to stay away from that product. Again, this is just my opinion only.
Subscribe via email: