The other week M and I had the luxury of a date night. It doesn't happen often, and I decided I wanted sushi, so we checked out a new sushi place. I was feeling like a splurge and decided to go for an appetizer, and thought that the edamame was probably the only safe thing to order. This is fine with me..because who doesn't like sucking out salty beans from their pods. And then it struck me to ask...what water do they use to boil/steam their edamame? And sure enough, they use the same water that they cook their (gluten) noodles.
On a plus side, they did have gluten-free soy sauce on hand.
That was a close one! Always remember to ask when you order something steamed or boiled that it is not being steamed or boiled in the same water as something gluten-filled.
My public service announcement for the day.